Posted by: Dr. Tyrone A. Holmes | March 6, 2015

My 2015 Competition Phase I Training Plan

I just completed my Intensity Phase training plan and I was very pleased with the results. It’s time to put my improved fitness to work in some races! I have attached my 2015 Competition Phase I Training Plan. As you review the plan, please keep the following points in mind:

  1. The primary goal of this plan is to continue to improve my functional threshold power (the highest average power, measured in watts that an athlete can maintain for one hour) and muscular endurance (the ability to pedal a big gear at a moderate cadence for an extended period). These are both areas of significant importance for racing in time trials (all of my races this season are time trials).
  2. The plan includes five 21-day mesocycles.
  3. The plan includes 6 USA Cycling sanctioned races and 4 training races (I’ll do more races during Competition Phase II).
  4. The plan also includes 14 high-intensity workouts and field tests.

You can download and review my Competition Phase I Training Plan here. As always, I hope you find it helpful with your training and racing!

NEXT POST – March 8, 2015

Cycle Log: 2015 Competition Phase I – Week 1

Leave a Reply

Categories

