Posted by: Dr. Tyrone A. Holmes | March 1, 2015

Cycle Log: Intensity Phase 2015 – Week 15

Week 15 is the third week of the fifth mesocycle of my Intensity Phase for the 2015 racing season (click here for a detailed description of macrocycles, mesocycles and microcycles). Here are my workouts for the week of February 23 to March 1, 2015 (click here to download my Intensity Phase training plan):

  • Monday, February 23 – Field Test (1.0 hour)
  • Wednesday, February 25 – Active Recovery (1.0 hour)
  • Friday, February 27 – Active Recovery (1.0 hour)
  • Saturday, February 28 – Steady Spinning (1.0 hour)

This was the last week of my Intensity Phase Plan for 2015 and I can happily report that it was a very successful phase. While this was a recovery week, I did my final field test of this phase on Monday and set personal bests with both 8 minute efforts. The first was 256 watts and the second 250 watts for an average power output of 253 watts for 16 minutes. That’s an increase of 5 watts over my last field test and 16.5 watts since I began the Intensity Phase! My estimated functional threshold power has gone from 217 watts in early December to 233 watts today. My goal for the season is 240 watts so I should have no problem achieving that number. I recovered for the rest of the week so I should be ready to start my Competition Phase I plan this week. As always, I’ll let you know how it goes. Have a great week!

NEXT POST – March 5, 2015

My 2015 Competition Phase I Plan

Leave a Reply

Categories

