Posted by: Dr. Tyrone A. Holmes | February 22, 2015

Cycle Log: Intensity Phase 2015 – Week 14

Week 14 is the second week of the fifth mesocycle of my Intensity Phase for the 2015 racing season (click here for a detailed description of macrocycles, mesocycles and microcycles). Here are my workouts for the week of February 16-22, 2015 (click here to download my Intensity Phase training plan):

  • Monday, February 16 – Steady Spinning (1.75 hours)
  • Tuesday, February 17 – Active Recovery (1.0 hour)
  • Thursday, February 19 – Time Trial Intervals (1.25 hours)
  • Friday, February 20 – Active Recovery (1.0 hour)
  • Saturday, February 21 – VO2 Max Intervals (1.0 hour)

I had another excellent week of training. It started with a Steady Spinning ride on my new TT bike. I think I can safely say I am comfortable riding in the aero position. My next step is to increase the power I can generate in that position. I rode my TT bike for Thursday’s Time Trial Intervals and had a great workout. I don’t have my power meter yet so I used heart rate as an intensity measure. I did 3 x 10:00 hard efforts with 5 minutes recovery. My average HR for 30 minutes was 160 bpm, which is my lactate threshold HR. My average speed for that time was 22.2 mph, which means I’m starting to generate some power in the aero position. I’m very pleased with those numbers in mid-February. Perhaps my best workout this week was Saturday’s VO2 Max Intervals. I did 4 x 3:00 hard efforts on the indoor trainer. My 4 hard efforts were 262, 268, 265 and 263 watts for an average power output of 264.5 watts for 12 minutes. My previous best was 257.25 watts on January 19. I am clearly getting stronger! I have a field test on Monday and then I recover. As always, I’ll let you know how it goes. Have a great week!

NEXT POST – February 26, 2015

Using a Power Meter: Normalized Power

Leave a Reply

Categories

