Posted by: Dr. Tyrone A. Holmes | February 15, 2015

Cycle Log: Intensity Phase 2015 – Week 13

Week 13 is the first week of the fifth mesocycle of my Intensity Phase for the 2015 racing season (click here for a detailed description of macrocycles, mesocycles and microcycles). Here are my workouts for the week of February 9-15, 2015 (click here to download my Intensity Phase training plan):

  • Monday, February 9 – Steady Spinning (1.5 hours)
  • Tuesday, February 10 – Active Recovery (1.0 hour)
  • Thursday, February 12 – Field Test (1.25 hours)
  • Friday, February 13 – Sprint Intervals: Long (1.0 hour)

I had a very good week of training, even though I couldn’t ride over the weekend. It started with a Steady Spinning ride on my new TT bike. I’m getting increasingly comfortable in the aero position. I rode my TT bike again for Thursday’s field test. It wasn’t my standard 2 x 8:00 test. Instead, I rode for 10 miles as fast as I could (28:24 on a relatively flat course in very windy conditions – a good first test on the new bike). The great news is I did the entire field test in the aero position. I have found my comfort zone. The next step is to increase my power in the aero position, which will become easier once I get my new power meter. It’s on order and should arrive any day. I finished my training week with another “40 Minutes of Hell” session on the indoor trainer. It’s 60 seconds ON and 60 seconds OFF (recovery) for 40 minutes, broken into four, 10 minute sets. Within each set, I increase gearing for each minute of hard effort (e.g., 53 x 19/17/16/15/14). It is a painful, yet awesome workout that works because you don’t give yourself enough time to recover. I have another hard week coming up including more rides on the new TT bike. As always, I’ll let you know how it goes. Have a great week!

NEXT POST – February 22, 2015

Cycle-Log: Intensity Phase 2015 – Week 14

Leave a Reply

Categories

