Posted by: Dr. Tyrone A. Holmes | January 18, 2015

Cycle Log: Intensity Phase 2015 – Week 9

Week 9 is the third week of the third mesocycle of my Intensity Phase for the 2015 racing season (click here for a detailed description of macrocycles, mesocycles and microcycles), which means it is a recovery week. Here are my workouts for the week of January 12-18, 2015 (click here to download my Intensity Phase training plan):

  • Monday, January 12 – Field Test (1.0 hour)
  • Tuesday, January 13 – Cadence Intervals (1.0 hour)
  • Thursday, January 15 – Active Recovery (1.0 hour)
  • Saturday, January 17 – Active Recovery (1.0 hour)

I had a very good week that started with a great field test on Monday. I did 2 x 8:00 hard efforts at 250 and 246 watts for an average power output of 248 watts for 16 minutes. That’s my best this season by far. I had a very good Cadence Intervals workout the next day that included 3 x 8:00 efforts at 190, 190 and 200 watts. Most importantly, my average cadence for 24 minutes was 100.67 rpm. I recovered the rest of the week and I’m ready for another hard week of training. I also picked up my new bike, a 2015 Trek Speed Concept 7.0. I will test it out this week. As always, I’ll let you know how it goes. Have a great week!

NEXT POST – January 22, 2015

Using a Power Meter: Functional Threshold Power

Leave a Reply

Categories

