Posted by: Dr. Tyrone A. Holmes | January 11, 2015

Cycle Log: Intensity Phase 2015 – Week 8

Week 8 is the second week of the third mesocycle of my Intensity Phase for the 2015 racing season (click here for a detailed description of macrocycles, mesocycles and microcycles). Here are my workouts for the week of January 5-11, 2015 (click here to download my Intensity Phase training plan):

  • Monday, January 5 – Steady Spinning (2.0 hours)
  • Tuesday, January 6 – Active Recovery (1.0 hour)
  • Thursday, January 8 – Time Trial Intervals (1.25 hours)
  • Friday, January 9 – Active Recovery (1 hour)

I had a very good, albeit shortened training week. It started with my first outdoor ride in many weeks. I did a Steady Spinning effort at Sonoran Desert Drive, which is a relatively flat (553 feet of climbing in 38 miles), awesome stretch of road. It’s only 1.5 years old (great pavement), has a bike path throughout and very light traffic. It’s perfect for time trial training. I had a solid Time Trial Intervals workout on Thursday. I did 2 x 6:00 hard efforts that produced an average power output of 243 watts for 12 minutes. I was going to do 4 hard efforts but I battled some leg fatigue throughout the week and just didn’t have the strength to do it. However, after soft pedaling for about 12 minutes, I did a series of five, 1-minute hard efforts between 275 and 315 watts with 2 minutes of recovery. That made it a successful workout. Because of my leg fatigue (and an NSA Arizona meeting on Saturday morning), I took the weekend off. Hopefully, I’ll be back to 100% on Monday. I have another Field Test coming up so I’ll need to be. As always, I’ll let you know how it goes. Have a great week!

NEXT POST – January 15, 2015

My 2015 Race Season Goals

Leave a Reply

Categories

