Posted by: Dr. Tyrone A. Holmes | December 14, 2014

Cycle Log: Intensity Phase 2015 – Week 4

Week 4 is the first week of the second mesocycle of my Intensity Phase for the 2015 racing season (click here for a detailed description of macrocycles, mesocycles and microcycles). Here are my workouts for the week of December 8-14, 2014 (click here to download my Intensity Phase training plan):

  • Monday, December 8 – Steady Spinning (1.75 hours)
  • Wednesday, December 10 – Pyramid Intervals (1.25 hours)
  • Thursday, December 11 – Active Recovery (1.0 hour)
  • Friday, December 12 – Active Recovery (0.75 hours)
  • Saturday, December 13 – Steady Spinning (1.25 hours)

I had a very good week although I only had one high-intensity workout. I started with a very good Steady Spinning ride on the indoor trainer. Wednesday’s Pyramid Intervals workout was outstanding. I did my “40 minutes of Hell” routine, which consists of 5 x 8:00 hard efforts with 1-minute increasingly difficult bursts followed by 1 minute of easy spinning for recovery (I increase gearing/resistance 4 times and then start over – I repeat this 5 times). This is a very tiring workout. I had to recover the next two days and I finished the week with another Steady Spinning workout. I’m back at it again next week. I always, I’ll let you know how it goes. Have a great week!

NEXT POST – December 21, 2014

Cycle Log: Intensity Phase 2014 – Week 5

Leave a Reply

Categories

