Posted by: Dr. Tyrone A. Holmes | November 20, 2014

My 2015 Intensity Phase Training Plan

I just completed my Endurance Phase training plan and I wasn’t entirely happy with the results. I put forth a solid effort; however, I simply could not log the desired hours because of numerous business commitments. I shouldn’t have that problem with my Intensity Phase plan because the focus isn’t on volume, it’s on pain (i.e., high-intensity efforts)! As you review the plan, please keep the following points in mind:

  • The primary goal of this plan is to improve my functional threshold power (the highest average power, measured in watts, that an athlete can maintain for one hour) and muscular endurance (the ability to pedal a big gear at a moderate cadence for an extended period). These are both areas of weakness for me so I should see a great deal of improvement over the next few months.
  • The plan includes five, 21-day mesocycles.
  • The third week of each mesocycle includes a field test to assess my functional threshold power (FTP) and lactate threshold heart rate (LTHR). It also includes a 5 day recovery block.
  • The plan includes a total of 25 high-intensity workouts (5 per mesocycle).

You can download and review my Intensity Phase training plan here. As always, I hope you find it helpful!

NEXT POST – November 23, 2014

Cycle Log: Intensity Phase 2015 – Week 1

Leave a Reply

Categories

