Posted by: Dr. Tyrone A. Holmes | November 16, 2014

Cycle Log: Endurance Phase 2015 – Week 15

Week 15 is the third week of the fifth mesocycle of my Endurance Phase for the 2015 racing season (click here for a detailed description of macrocycles, mesocycles and microcycles), which means it is a recovery week. It also represents the final week of my Endurance Phase plan. Here are my workouts for the week of November 10-16, 2014 (click here to download my Endurance Phase training plan):

  • Monday, November 10 – Steady Spinning (1.0 hour)
  • Tuesday, November 11 – Steady Spinning (1.0 hour)
  • Thursday, November 13 – Active Recovery (1.0 hour)
  • Saturday, November 15 – Active Recovery (1.0 hour)

I had a pretty uneventful recovery week. Just four basic 1-hour rides on my indoor trainer. In fact, I would describe my entire Endurance Phase training regimen in the same way. Not bad but far from outstanding. My highlight was the Tour de Scottsdale in October and I did have some really good workouts. Unfortunately, I was so busy with my business that I didn’t really get the volume I needed over the last 15 weeks. Oh well, that happens sometimes and I am committed to making it up during my Intensity Phase Training Plan that starts on Monday. I will spend the next 15 weeks doing my power program, which I use with my athletes to help them achieve significant gains in their functional threshold power (FTP). Hopefully, it will work for me as well! As always, I’ll let you know how it goes. Have a great week!

NEXT POST – November 20, 2014

My 2015 Intensity Phase Training Plan

Leave a Reply

Categories

