Posted by: Dr. Tyrone A. Holmes | September 21, 2014

Cycle Log: Endurance Phase 2015 – Week 7

Week 7 is the first week of the third mesocycle of my Endurance Phase for the 2015 racing season (click here for a detailed description of macrocycles, mesocycles and microcycles). Here are my workouts for the week of September 15-21, 2014 (click here to download my Endurance Phase training plan):

  • Monday, September 15 – Hill Climb (2.25 hours)
  • Tuesday, September 16 – Active Recovery (1.0 hour)
  • Thursday, September 18 – Strength Intervals (1.25 hours)
  • Friday, September 19 – Active Recovery (1.0 hour)
  • Saturday, September 20 – Steady Spinning (1.25 hours)

This was my best week since the beginning of my Endurance Phase training plan and it’s probably not a coincidence that I am back up to 5 days of riding per week. I had a very tough, albeit very strong, Hill Climb ride on Monday. 95 degree temps and a strong headwind up every climb made it a difficult ride. I climbed about 1,400 feet but the hard part was dealing with the headwind. Conversely, it was fun riding back downhill with a strong tailwind! I had a very good Strength Intervals session on Thursday. I did 3 x 7:30 and 1 x 9:00 up my Pinnacle Peak climb. I felt very strong and rode well. I finished the week riding with one of my Healthy Life Coaching clients. He’s doing a fantastic job and has lost about 17 lbs since we started working together. He’s also becoming a very good cyclist. We had a great ride together. I have another tough week coming up. As always, I’ll let you know how it goes. Have a great week!

NEXT POST – September 28, 2014

Cycle Log: Endurance Phase 2015 – Week 8

Leave a Reply

Categories

