Posted by: Dr. Tyrone A. Holmes | July 22, 2014

Cycle Log: Competition Phase 2014 – Week 13

Week 13 is the first week of the fifth and final mesocycle of my Competition Phase I for the 2014 racing season (click here for a detailed description of macrocycles, mesocycles and microcycles). Here are my workouts for the week of July 14-20, 2014 (click here to download my Competition Phase training plan):

  • Monday, July 14 – Pyramid Intervals (1.5 hours)
  • Tuesday, July 15– Steady Spinning (1.0 hours)
  • Thursday, July 17 – Tempo Ride (1.25 hours)
  • Saturday, July 19 – Tempo Ride (1.25 hours)

I had a very good week away from home. I took my wife and daughter to New Jersey to visit my parents; however, I also had some good rides on the stationary bike. I had a great Pyramid Intervals workout on Monday. I did six 42s (4:00 hard effort with 2:00 recovery) and was really tired by the end of the workout. Both of my Tempo rides were great as well. I did a lot of big gear pushing, which really helps improve muscular endurance (the ability to pedal a relatively big gear at a moderate cadence for an extended period). On Saturday, I spent 40+ minutes pedaling at 200+ watts in the 80-90 rpm range. I have another busy week coming up but I will get my 4 rides in. As always, I’ll let you know how it goes. Have a great week!

NEXT POST – July 27, 2014

Cycle Log: Competition Phase 2014 – Week 14

Leave a Reply

Categories

