Posted by: Dr. Tyrone A. Holmes | July 13, 2014

Cycle Log: Competition Phase 2014 – Week 12

Week 12 is the third week of the fourth mesocycle of my Competition Phase I for the 2014 racing season (click here for a detailed description of macrocycles, mesocycles and microcycles). Here are my workouts for the week of July 7-13, 2014 (click here to download my Competition Phase training plan):

  • Monday, July 7 – High Cadence Spinning (1.25 hours)
  • Tuesday, July 8– Steady Spinning (1.0 hours)
  • Thursday, July 10 – Hill Climb (2.5 hours)
  • Saturday, July 12 – Tempo Ride (1.5 hours)

I had a very good week that included my first outdoor ride in a month. I started the week with High Cadence Spinning and Steady Spinning rides on the indoor trainer. Then on Thursday, the miraculous moment came: I rode outdoors! I did a 2.5 hour Hill Climb ride that included 2,000+ feet of climbing. Not my hardest climbing effort ever but a very enjoyable ride. More significantly, I have been focused on pedaling big gears at relatively low cadences on the trainer. It has paid off in a massive way. I was immensely strong during that ride; probably stronger than I have been in years in terms of muscular endurance (the ability to pedal a relatively big gear, at a moderate cadence for an extended period of time). I set a PB on the KOM/QOM FASTER Gran Fondo stretch of road up Stagecoach Pass without riding hard (HR never went above Zone 3 and it was a hot day – my Strava rank went up to 264/1156). I was blown away by how strong I was and it had nothing to do with my cardiovascular fitness, which is fine but nowhere near peak. That was a fun ride. I’ll do another one this week. As always, I’ll let you know how it goes. Have a great week!

NEXT POST – July 20, 2014

Cycle Log: Competition Phase 2014 – Week 13

Leave a Reply

Categories

