Posted by: Dr. Tyrone A. Holmes | July 6, 2014

Cycle Log: Competition Phase 2014 – Week 11

Week 11 is the second week of the fourth mesocycle of my Competition Phase I for the 2014 racing season (click here for a detailed description of macrocycles, mesocycles and microcycles). Here are my workouts for the week of June 30 through July 6, 2014 (click here to download my Competition Phase training plan):

  • Monday, June 30 – Steady Spinning (1.25 hours)
  • Tuesday, July 1 – Steady Spinning (1.0 hours)
  • Thursday, July 3 – Pyramid Intervals (1.5 hours)
  • Saturday, July 5 – Pyramid Intervals (1.5 hours)

I had a very good week but unfortunately, did not have a chance to get out and ride. I did all 4 rides on my indoor trainer but they were very good efforts. I started the week with two Steady Spinning workouts and finished the week with two hard Pyramid Interval sessions. I had strong legs for all 4 workouts; however, my most significant news is I have decided to shut down racing and race preparation for the rest of 2014. I am just too busy with my speaking and coaching business and in my new role as the President of the Arizona chapter of the National Speakers Association (of course, I am very happy to be really busy with new business).

The good news is I have finally figured out how I want to approach the race season here in Arizona (it only took me 5 years). What’s tricky is you can race 12 months out of the year here but that is a great way to burn out physically and mentally. So you have to decide what’s most important to you as an athlete. I’ve decided to focus on the time trial races and cycling events that take place between January and May. Time trialing is my first love and there are about a dozen races/events that take place during this timeframe. Plus, the weather is great for racing this time of year. I will still do some of our great fall events like the Tour de Scottsdale, FASTER Gran Fondo and Tour de Tucson but they will be a part of my Endurance Phase training for the winter/spring race season. Of course, I’ll still be riding for fun and exercise until I start my Endurance Phase in early August. As always, I’ll let you know how it goes. Have a great week!

NEXT POST – July 13, 2014

Cycle Log: Competition Phase 2014 – Week 12

Leave a Reply

Categories

