Posted by: Dr. Tyrone A. Holmes | June 22, 2014

Cycle Log: Competition Phase 2014 – Week 9

Week 9 is the third week of the third mesocycle of my Competition Phase I for the 2014 racing season (click here for a detailed description of macrocycles, mesocycles and microcycles). Here are my workouts for the week of June 16 through June 22, 2014 (click here to download my Competition Phase training plan):

  • Monday, June 16 – Steady Spinning (1.5 hours)
  • Tuesday, June 17 – Active Recovery (1.0 hours)
  • Thursday, June 19 – Strength Intervals (1.5 hours)
  • Friday, June 20 – Active Recovery (0.75 hours)
  • Saturday, June 21 – Steady Spinning (1.25 hours)

Because I am so busy right now, I’m doing all of my riding on the indoor trainer.  I had a very good week. Monday’s Steady Spinning ride was a very good effort. Thursday’s Strength Intervals was a tremendous workout. I did 6 x 5:00 Zone 3 efforts in a relatively big gear with 5 minutes of recovery between hard efforts. I felt very strong for this workout. I finished the week with another Steady Spinning effort on legs that were a little tired. I have another really busy week coming up. I’ll be back on the trainer! As always, I’ll let you know how it goes. Have a great week!

NEXT POST – June 29, 2014

Cycle Log: Competition Phase 2014 – Week 10

Leave a Reply

Categories

