Posted by: Dr. Tyrone A. Holmes | June 15, 2014

Cycle Log: Competition Phase 2014 – Week 8

Week 8 is the second week of the third mesocycle of my Competition Phase I for the 2014 racing season (click here for a detailed description of macrocycles, mesocycles and microcycles). Here are my workouts for the week of June 9 through June 15, 2014 (click here to download my Competition Phase training plan):

  • Monday, June 9 – Active Recovery (1.0 hours)
  • Tuesday, June 10 – Steady Spinning (1.0 hours)
  • Thursday, June 12 – Hill Climb (3.0 hours)
  • Friday, June 13 – Active Recovery (1.0 hours)

I had a solid but decidedly unspectacular week. I was still tired from the Flagstaff Snowbowl Hill Climb race so I took it easy on Monday and Tuesday. I had a great Hill Climb workout on Thursday. I rode for 3 hours, covered 47.4 miles and climbed 2,900 feet. It was 92 degrees when I finished so I rode really well on a very warm day. I didn’t get a chance to ride on the weekend because of several business commitments. That will be the case through the end of June because I have a business trip, a retreat and lots of prep work to do. I’ll probably do a lot of 60-90 minute rides on the indoor trainer to save time. Not the most glamorous form of riding but you can get a great workout in a relatively short period of time. As always, I’ll let you know how it goes. Have a great week!

NEXT POST – June 22, 2014

Cycle Log: Competition Phase 2014 – Week 9

Leave a Reply

Categories

