Posted by: Dr. Tyrone A. Holmes | May 18, 2014

Cycle Log: Competition Phase 2014 – Week 4

Week 4 is the first week of the second mesocycle of my Competition Phase I for the 2014 racing season (click here for a detailed description of macrocycles, mesocycles and microcycles). Here are my workouts for the week of May 12 through May 18, 2014 (click here to download my Competition Phase training plan):

  • Monday, May 12 – Hill Climb (2.5 hours)
  • Tuesday, May 13 – Active Recovery (1.0 hour)
  • Thursday, May 15 – Steady Spinning (1.0 hour)
  • Saturday, May 17 – Tempo Ride (2.5 hours)

I had a tremendous week with two very good 2.5 hour rides. The first ride was Monday’s Hill Climb at 9 Mile Road. I felt great and climbed nearly 2,400 feet. After two workouts on the indoor trainer, I had a very good Tempo ride on Saturday. I climbed over 2,000 feet and burned 1,600 calories because it was a warm day (temps in the 90s). I have another hard week coming up including a serious hill climb out at Bartlett Lake.  I want to get in more than 3,500 feet of climbing. As always, I’ll let you know how it goes. Have a great week!

NEXT POST – May 21, 2014

10 Nutrition and Hydration Tips – #2:  Eat Immediately After a Workout or Competitive Event

Leave a Reply

Categories

