Posted by: Dr. Tyrone A. Holmes | May 11, 2014

Cycle Log: Competition Phase 2014 – Week 3

Week 3 is the third week of the first mesocycle of my Competition Phase I for the 2014 racing season (click here for a detailed description of macrocycles, mesocycles and microcycles), which means it is a recovery week. Here are my workouts for the week of May 5 through May 11, 2014 (click here to download my Competition Phase training plan):

  • Monday, May 5 – Hill Climb (2.5 hours)
  • Wednesday, May 7 – Active Recovery (0.75 hours)
  • Friday, May 9 – Active Recovery (0.75 hours)
  • Saturday, May 10 – Tempo Ride (1.25 hours)

I had a somewhat disappointing week. It started with a great Hill Climb workout at South Mountain where I climbed 3,415 feet. I recovered during the middle of the week and then I was supposed to participate in the South Mountain Time Trial on Saturday. Unfortunately, I wasn’t able to because of business considerations (i.e., I had too much work to do). I did have a good Tempo ride on the indoor trainer as a replacement. Oh well, there will always be more races. I have a full week of training coming up. As always, I’ll let you know how it goes. Have a great week!

NEXT POST – May 18, 2014

Cycle Log: Competition Phase 2014 – Week 4

Leave a Reply

Categories

