Posted by: Dr. Tyrone A. Holmes | April 16, 2014

My New Competition Phase I Training Plan

I just completed my Competition Phase I training plan. It is designed to prepare me for the hot, summer racing season here in Arizona. You can use this plan as a model for developing your own training plans. As you review it, please keep the following points in mind:

  • The primary goal of this plan is to improve my functional threshold power (the highest average power, measured in watts, a cyclist can maintain for 1 hour), muscular endurance (ability to pedal a relatively big gear at a moderate cadence for an extended period) and overall climbing ability. I’m preparing for 6 major hill climb races culminating with the Arizona State Hill Climb Championships in October.
  • The plan includes five 21-day mesocycles.
  • The third week of each mesocycle includes a 3 or 4 day recovery block.
  • The plan includes 4 races, 9 high-intensity interval workouts and 8 hill climb workouts.

You can download and review my Competition Phase I training plan here. As always, I hope you find it helpful!

NEXT POST – April 20, 2014

Cycle Log: Intensity Phase 2014 – Week 15

Leave a Reply

Categories

