Posted by: Dr. Tyrone A. Holmes | April 13, 2014

Cycle Log: Intensity Phase 2014 – Week 14

Week 14 is the second week of the fifth and final mesocycle of my Intensity Phase for the 2014 racing season (click here for a detailed description of macrocycles, mesocycles and microcycles). Here are my workouts for the week of April 7-13, 2014 (click here to download my Intensity Phase training plan):

  • Monday, April 7 – Hill Climb (1.75 hours)
  • Tuesday, April 8 – Active Recovery (1.0 hour)
  • Thursday, April 10 – Tempo Ride (1.75 hours)
  • Friday, April 11 – Active Recovery (1.25 hours)

I had another very good week. I did a Hill Climb workout on Monday with a riding buddy and we climbed over 2,000 feet during 29 miles of riding. It was a tough ride because I was still a bit tired from last Saturday’s Tour de Mesa. I was mostly recovered by Thursday’s Tempo ride, which I did on my time trial bike. I am still getting used to the aero position but I rode well on a course that climbed over 1,200 feet.  I’m headed back to South Mountain early this week and then I’ll get a few days to recover. As always, I’ll let you know how it goes. Have a great week!

NEXT POST – April 16, 2014

My Competition Phase I Training Plan

Leave a Reply

Categories

