Posted by: Dr. Tyrone A. Holmes | February 2, 2014

Cycle Log: Intensity Phase 2014 – Week 4

Week 4 is the first week of the second mesocycle of my Intensity Phase for the 2014 racing season (click here for a detailed description of macrocycles, mesocycles and microcycles). Here are the actual workouts with the plan for the week of January 27 to February 2, 2014 (click here to download my Intensity Phase training plan).

Week of 1/27/14 Mon Tues Wed Th Fri Sat Sun Total
Goal 2.5 SS 1.0 AR OFF 1.5 HI 1.0 AR 1.5 SS OFF 7.5
Actual 2.5 SS 1.0 AR OFF 1.25 TT 1.25 AR 1.5 Tempo OFF 7.5

                                             

I had another great week that began with a Steady Spinning ride on my Trek hybrid that included 39 miles with 1,665 feet of climbing. It was a really tough muscular endurance workout. For Thursday’s Time Trial Intervals, I did 3 x 6:00 Zone 4 efforts with 4 minutes of recovery. I attempted a 4th interval but my legs were too tired to finish it. Saturday’s Tempo workout was my best 90-minute effort ever on my Arizona stationary bike! I have another difficult series of rides coming up this week. As always, I’ll let you know how it goes. Have a great week!

NEXT POST – February 5, 2014

Cycle Log: Intensity Phase 2014 – Week 5

Responses

  1. Congrats on the good week and good luck on the next rides!


Leave a Reply

Categories

