Posted by: Dr. Tyrone A. Holmes | January 22, 2014

My 2014 SMART Goals

It’s that time of the year again. Whether you are a runner, swimmer, cyclist, multisport athlete or tennis player, you should take a few minutes to consider your goals for the upcoming season. If you follow this blog, you know I am an advocate of SMART goals, which are goals that are specific, measurable, achievable, relevant and time-bound. When you set goals for yourself, always make sure they are SMART goals. You should also consider both process and outcome goals. For example, my process goals for the 2014 cycling season are as follows:

  1. Ride 6,000 miles
  2. Ride for 340 hours
  3. Complete 3 centuries (I already finished the first one)
  4. Climb South Mountain in Phoenix, Arizona 3 times in one workout (16.5 miles and about 3,300 feet of climbing)
  5. Do the Bartlett Lake climb twice in one workout (55 miles and nearly 6,000 feet of climbing)
  6. Complete the Bartlett Lake long ride (about 70 miles and nearly 5,000 feet of climbing)

These are process goals because they not connected to a specific race or event. Instead, they are connected to my training rides. I have 6 outcome goals as well:

  1. Set a PB in the Tour de Mesa
  2. Set a PB in the Mt. Lemmon Gran Fondo
  3. Set a PB in the South Mountain TT
  4. Set a PB in the Mt. Lemmon TT
  5. Set a PB in the Tour de Scottsdale
  6. Set a PB in El Tour de Tucson

These are outcome goals because they are connected to specific races and events that take place at designated times. The Tour de Mesa, Mt. Lemmon Gran Fondo and Tour de Tucson are first time events so I basically just want to finish! You can download a list of my 2014 goals here. I hope they help you set your goals and motivate you to have your best year ever!

NEXT POST – January 26, 2014

Cycle Log: Intensity Phase Week 3

Responses

  1. Very nice!! Wish you all the best 🙂
    Just wanted to share my experience here. I am A Beachbody Coach and this is the best thing happened to me. I am very glad and satisfied with the results!

  2. […] https://doctorholmes.wordpress.com/2014/01/22/my-2014-smart-goals/ […]

  3. […] with a goal – Have you set SMART goals for 2014? Are you working towards something that is meaningful, specific and timely? Have you set a […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

