Posted by: Dr. Tyrone A. Holmes | October 13, 2013

Cycle Log: Endurance Phase 2014 – Week 3

Week 3 is the third week of the first mesocycle of my Endurance Phase for the 2014 racing season (click here for a detailed description of macrocycles, mesocycles and microcycles). Here are the actual workouts with the plan for the week of October 7-13, 2013 (click here to download my Endurance Phase training plan).

Week of 10/7/13 Mon Tues Wed Th Fri Sat Sun Total
Goal 2.0 FT OFF 1.0 AR OFF 1.0 AR OFF T of S 7.5
Actual 2.5 FT OFF 1.0 AR OFF 1.0 AR OFF T of S 7.75

                                             

I had an awesome week! It started with a very good field test on Monday. I did the field test on a course known here as 9-mile road. As in 9 miles long with about 1,100 feet of climbing. It’s a great workout because it is a very steady ascent. The problem is I have to climb nearly 1,000 feet to get to the top of the 9-mile course (I’m coming from the opposite direction), and then ride downhill for 20-25 minutes to get to the start. In other words, I have to do a lot of hard work just to get to the start line so I was a bit tired. Still, I rode well and finished the course with a personal best of 36:12. I spent the next five days recovering and then it was time for my favorite event, the Tour de Scottsdale, which is a 70-mile citizen’s ride (as opposed to a race) with about 2,200 feet of climbing. I rode with two of my friends and coaching clients, and completed the course in 3:19:48, another personal best. Most importantly, a great time was had by all! I recover for a couple of days and then I get back to the hard work. As always, I’ll let you know how it goes. Have a great week!

NEXT POST – October 15, 2013

My New Holmes Fitness Coaching Website!

Leave a Reply

Categories

