Posted by: Dr. Tyrone A. Holmes | August 4, 2013

Cycle Log: Competition Phase II – Week 5

Week 5 is the second week of the second mesocycle of my Competition Phase II for the 2013 racing season (click here for a detailed description of macrocycles, mesocycles and microcycles). Here are the actual workouts with the plan for the week of July 29 to August 4, 2013 (click here to download my plan for Competition Phase II).

Week of 7/29/13 Mon Tues Wed Th Fri Sat Sun Total
Goal 2.0 SS 1.0 AR OFF 1.0 SS OFF 2.0 HC OFF 6.0
Actual 2.5 SS OFF OFF 1.25 AR 1.25 HCS 1.25 HCS OFF 6.25

                                             

I had a very good week of riding even though I was in San Diego on business during the middle of the week. I had a great Steady Spinning ride on Monday that covered 41 miles with more than 1,600 feet of climbing. I did Thursday’s Active Recovery ride on the recumbent bike in my hotel. I had a good spin but I do not like riding recumbents! I did 75-minute High Cadence Spinning rides on a stationary bike on Friday and Saturday. Both were good workouts but I made a huge mistake on Friday. I forgot to eat something before my workout and I nearly bonked. I started very strong but got weaker as the ride went on. It was an important reminder to always eat before a hard workout! As an interesting side note, I burned over 3,500 calories on the bike this week. I have a couple of hard workouts to start the upcoming week and then I recover. As always, I’ll let you know how it goes. Have a great week!

NEXT POST – August 11, 2013

Cycle Log: Competition Phase II – Week 6

Leave a Reply

Categories

