Posted by: Dr. Tyrone A. Holmes | July 28, 2013

Cycle Log: Competition Phase II – Week 4

Week 4 is the first week of the second mesocycle of my Competition Phase II for the 2013 racing season (click here for a detailed description of macrocycles, mesocycles and microcycles). Here are the actual workouts with the plan for the week of July 22-28, 2013 (click here to download my plan for Competition Phase II).

Week of 7/22/13 Mon Tues Wed Th Fri Sat Sun Total
Goal 2.0 HC 1.0 AR OFF 1.25 PI OFF 0.5 WU 3 Bears TT #1 6.5
Actual 2.0 HC 1.0 AR OFF 1.25 PI OFF 2.5 SS OFF 6.75

                                             

I was scheduled to participate in my first race in nearly 5 months but for now, I am only racing on the tandem or individually in hill climb events. My tandem partner wasn’t available this weekend so I decided to skip the event and do a Steady Spinning ride instead. It was a great workout as I climbed 1,600 feet and rode in warm, humid conditions. I did Monday’s Hill Climb ride in the same conditions at South Mountain in Phoenix, AZ. I struggled with the heat but still did a solid, 2-hour ride. My best workout was Thursday’s Pyramid Intervals session on a stationary bike. I did 4 x 7:00 Zone 4 intervals with 4 minutes of recovery between hard efforts. It was nice riding in cool conditions! I have another hard week of training coming up. As always, I’ll let you know how it goes. Have a great week!

NEXT POST – August 4, 2013

Cycle Log: Competition Phase II – Week 5

Leave a Reply

Categories

