Posted by: Dr. Tyrone A. Holmes | July 14, 2013

Cycle Log: Competition Phase II – Week 2

Week 2 is the second week of the first mesocycle of my Competition Phase II for the 2013 racing season (click here for a detailed description of macrocycles, mesocycles and microcycles). Here are the actual workouts with the plan for the week of July 8-14, 2013 (click here to download my plan for Competition Phase II).

Week of 7/8/13 Mon Tues Wed Th Fri Sat Sun Total
Goal 2.0 HC 1.0 AR 1.25 PI OFF 1.0 SS 0.75 SS OFF 6.0
Actual 2.5 HC 1.0 AR 1.0 PI OFF 1.0 AR 1.25 SS OFF 6.75

                                             

I had a busy week. It started with a great Hill Climb workout on Monday. I did a 38-mile ride that included more than 2,000 feet of climbing in 99° temperatures. That was tough! I did a Pyramid Intervals workout on Wednesday that included 2 x 6:00 Zone 4 intervals with 4 minutes of recovery, and 6 x 20 second all-out sprints. I traveled to San Diego on Wednesday to facilitate a full-day workshop for a client and to have some vacation time with my family. We visited the San Diego Zoo for the first time. What an awesome experience! I managed to get two rides in during my trip on a stationary recumbent bike. I don’t like riding recumbents, but I still had good workouts. I have a couple of hard rides to start this week and then I recover. As always, I’ll let you know how it goes. Have a great week!

NEXT POST – July 21, 2013

Cycle Log: Competition Phase II – Week 3

Leave a Reply

Categories

