Posted by: Dr. Tyrone A. Holmes | July 3, 2013

2013 Competition Phase II Training Plan

It’s really hot here in sunny Arizona. Unfortunately, we have big races coming up in September so I’ll just have to deal with the heat! I recently completed my Competition Phase II Training Plan, which means I’ll be doing some hard training in very tough conditions. As you take a look at this plan, keep the following points in mind:

  1. As always, I use a three-week mesocycle based on a 16-5 training pattern (16 days of hard work followed by 5 days of recovery). I find this is an effective training strategy for us 50+ cyclists because it provides ample time to recover.
  2. Because this is the competition phase, my primary goal is to improve my lactate threshold and functional threshold power (also known as 60-minute power, they are the highest intensity an athlete can maintain for one hour).
  3. Because my key events in September are hill races (Kitt Peak TT and the Arizona State Hill Climb Championships), I will also focus on improving my muscular endurance (the ability to pedal a relatively big gear at a moderate cadence for an extended period – also known as force generation).
  4. I will participate in four races and have scheduled eleven high-intensity interval workouts to prepare for my big events.

Click here to take a look at my 2013 Competition Phase II Training Plan. As always, I’ll let you know how my training is progressing. Have a great week!

NEXT POST – July 7, 2013

Cycle Log: Competition Phase II – Week 1

Leave a Reply

Categories

