Posted by: Dr. Tyrone A. Holmes | March 17, 2013

Cycle Log: Competition Phase Week 9

Week 9 is the third week of the third mesocycle of my Competition Phase for the 2013 racing season (click here for a detailed description of macrocycles, mesocycles and microcycles). Here are the actual workouts with the plan for the week of March 11-17, 2013 (click here to download my plan for the Competition Phase).

Week of 3/11/12 Mon Tues Wed Th Fri Sat Sun Total
Goal 1.0 AR 1.5 FT OFF 1.0 AR OFF 1.0 AR OFF 4.5
Actual 1.5 FT 1.0 AR OFF 21:45 R/W OFF 26:00 R/W OFF 2.5/47:45

                                             

I have a big surprise! After a 10 year hiatus, I decided to start running again. My soon-to-be 12-year-old daughter is participating in 5K running races and I want to run with her. I also want to start competing in duathlons so I did my first two runs this week. I did a field test on Monday and was performing really well until my rear wheel blew out with 3/10 of a mile left. Oh well, it happens. I repaired the tire and had a really good workout overall. After a recovery ride on Tuesday, I ran on Thursday for 15:45 with 6:00 of walking. I ran 20:00 with my daughter on Saturday plus another 6:00 of walking. My legs were sore on Friday and Sunday (to a lesser extent) so I will slowly adapt to running again. I have to be careful. I quit running and started cycling 10 years ago because of Achilles tendon problems and I don’t want that to happen again. I’ll ride twice and run twice in the upcoming week. As always, I’ll let you know how it goes. Have a great week!

NEXT POST – March 20, 2013                         

New Article

Leave a Reply

Categories

