Posted by: Dr. Tyrone A. Holmes | February 17, 2013

Cycle Log: Competition Phase Week 5

Week 5 is the second week of the second mesocycle of my Competition Phase for the 2013 racing season (click here for a detailed description of macrocycles, mesocycles and microcycles). Here are the actual workouts with the plan for the week of February 11-17, 2013 (click here to download my plan for the Competition Phase).

Week of 2/11/12 Mon Tues Wed Th Fri Sat Sun Total
Goal 2.5 HC 1.0 AR OFF 0.5 WU VOS TT 1.5 SS OFF 7.0
Actual 0.5 SS 1.25 MB OFF 0.5 WU VOS TT 1.25 AR OFF 5.0

                                             

This was easily my worst week of the season, until my race on Friday. I felt lousy on Monday and didn’t feel much better on Tuesday; however I hung in and had a pretty good Microburst workout with 20, 30-30s (30 second hard bursts followed by 30 seconds of recovery). Thursday’s warm-up was awful. My legs felt strong but I just had this general sense of fatigue all week (i.e., low energy). Friday was the Valley of the Sun TT and I didn’t expect to ride all that well. I’m not sure why but I got my energy back and raced quite well in fairly windy conditions. I was only 30 seconds slower than last year and had to deal with a tough headwind on the uphill, outbound leg. Without the wind, I would have been much faster than last year. My average power for the 14.2 mile race was 232 watts, which is getting me closer to my 250 watt seasonal goal. I have a field test and another microburst workout this week and then I recover. As always, I’ll let you know how it goes. Have a great week!

NEXT POST – February 24, 2013                    

Cycle Log: Competition Phase Week 6

Leave a Reply

Categories

