Posted by: Dr. Tyrone A. Holmes | January 16, 2013

My 2013 Competition Phase I Training Plan

A new year is upon us and it’s time to start increasing training intensity to prepare for the upcoming race season. Here in Arizona, the season is already here so I am posting my 2013 Competition I training plan.  As you review it, keep a few points in mind:

  1. The primary goal of this training plan is to increase my lactate threshold and functional threshold power while maintaining aerobic and muscular endurance.
  2. I use a 21-day mesocycle that employs a 16/5 training cycle (16 days of hard training followed by 5 days of recovery).
  3. I have included several high-intensity training blocks (high intensity training and/or racing on consecutive days followed by an equal amount of rest and recovery).
  4. My goal is to peak for the Mount Lemmon and South Mountain hill climb time trials in early May.

Click here to download my training plan. As always, I hope you find it helpful!

NEXT POST – January 20, 2013

Cycle Log: Endurance Phase Week 15

Leave a Reply

Categories

