Posted by: Dr. Tyrone A. Holmes | December 23, 2012

Cycle Log: Endurance Phase Week 12

Week 12 is the third week of the fourth mesocycle of my Endurance Phase for the 2013 racing season (click here for a detailed description of macrocycles, mesocycles and microcycles), which means it is a recovery week. Here are the actual workouts with the plan for the week of December 17-23, 2012 (click here to download my plan for the Endurance Phase).

Week of 12/17/12 Mon Tues Wed Th Fri Sat Sun Total
Goal 1.25 FT 1.75 Tempo OFF 1.0 AR OFF 1.0 AR OFF 5.0
Actual 4.0 SS 0.75 AR OFF 1.0 AR OFF 1.25 FT OFF 7.0

                                             

This may have been a recovery week but it included a lot of hard riding! I did a 4-hour Steady Spinning workout on Monday that included about 1,300 feet of climbing across 70 miles of riding. I rode with one of my Cycle-Max Coaching clients and we had a great time. I used the middle of the week to recover and finished with a Field Test on Saturday. I was a bit disappointed with the FT because I expected to set a PB but instead, missed my personal record by 1 watt of average power! I tired significantly during the last 10 minutes, which led to my reduced output (perhaps I started too hard). Oh well, it was a great workout. I am back at it this week. As always, I’ll let you know how it goes. Have a very Merry Christmas!

NEXT POST – December 30, 2012                 

Cycle Log: Endurance Phase Week 13

Leave a Reply

Categories

