Posted by: Dr. Tyrone A. Holmes | August 15, 2012

Lose Weight WITHOUT Dieting: Tip #74 – Swap Ground Beef for Ground Turkey

This is one of my favorite swaps.  I stopped eating red meat 20 years ago but I still like burgers.  So I switched from hamburgers to turkey burgers.  You can significantly reduce your saturated fat and calorie intake with turkey meat but be careful.  All ground turkey is not created equal (the same goes for ground beef).  99% fat-free ground turkey has 125 calories and 2 grams of fat (0.5% saturated) in a 4 ounce serving.  Conversely, 85% ground turkey has 240 calories and 16.9 grams of fat (4.5 saturated) in the same sized serving.  That’s more fat and calories than some lean ground beef choices (e.g., 95%).  I typically use 93% ground turkey.  It has 160 calories and 8 grams of fat (2.5 grams saturated) in a 4 ounce serving.  That’s more fat and calories than the 99% fat-free version but I prefer the taste.  As a general rule of thumb, opt for ground turkey made from white meat.  It will typically have less fat and fewer calories.

NEXT POST – August 19, 2012               

Cycle Log: Competition Phase Week 18

Responses

  1. I made the switch a few months ago and I have to say, I can’t tell the difference in most of my meals! I like seasoning the ground turkey well, it tastes amazing in shepherds pie!

    The Prawn is a big fan of ground beef and was always apprehensive about making the switch. When I make meals for him I use a 50/50 mix of turkey and ground beef, he can never tell the difference!

    Great post!


Leave a Reply

Categories

