Posted by: Dr. Tyrone A. Holmes | August 12, 2012

Cycle Log: Competition Phase Week 17

Week 17 is the second week of the sixth mesocycle of my 2012 Competition Phase (click here for a detailed description of macrocyles, mesocycles and microcycles).  Here are the actual workouts with the plan for the week of August 6 to 12, 2012 (click here to download my plan for the Competition Phase).        

Week of 8/6/12 Mon Tues Wed Th Fri Sat Sun Total
Goal 1.25 VO2 1.0 AR OFF 1.25 CI OFF 0.75 WU 3 Bears TT #2 6.0
Actual 1.0 VO2 1.0 AR OFF 1.25 SS OFF 0.75 WU 3 Bears TT #2 5.5

                                             

This was a tough week.  I had a great VO2 Max Intervals workout on Monday.  I did 4 x 3:30 at an average power of 264.25 watts with 3:30 recovery between hard efforts. My legs were still a bit tired on Thursday so I did a Steady Spinning ride.  My legs were strong again for Sunday’s 30K time trial but unfortunately, I wilted in the 90+ temperatures.  I rode about 100 seconds slower than I rode in the same race two weeks ago.  I started very strong and felt great but was overcome by the heat by the time I hit the turnaround.  I hung in there but it really wore me out.  Oh well, my next race is in New Mexico where it should be 25° cooler!  I have a field test coming up and then I recover.  As always, I’ll let you know how it goes.  Have a great week!

NEXT POST –August 15, 2012                         

Lose Weight WITHOUT Dieting: Tip #74

Leave a Reply

Categories

