Posted by: Dr. Tyrone A. Holmes | August 5, 2012

Cycle Log: Competition Phase Week 16

Week 16 is the first week of the sixth mesocycle of my 2012 Competition Phase (click here for a detailed description of macrocyles, mesocycles and microcycles).  Here are the actual workouts with the plan for the week of July 30 to August 5, 2012 (click here to download my plan for the Competition Phase).            

Week of 7/30/12 Mon Tues Wed Th Fri Sat Sun Total
Goal 1.0 AR 2.0 SS OFF 1.25 VO2 1.0 AR 1.25 TT OFF 6.5
Actual 1.0 AR 2.0 SS OFF 1.0 VO2 1.0 AR 1.5 HCR OFF 6.5

                                             

I had another strong week.  I did an Active Recovery ride on Monday to recuperate from Sunday’s 3 Bears 30K TT where I came in 3rd place in the 50+ category.   I did a Steady Spinning ride on my Trek hybrid on Tuesday in humid, 85° temps.  My big workout for the week was Thursday’s VO2 Max Intervals session.  I did 4 x 3:00 hard efforts at an average power of 267.25 watts with 3 minutes of recovery.  That was a very hard workout!  I replaced my Time Trial Intervals session with a High Cadence Recovery workout to allow my legs a chance to rest.  I have another VO2 Max workout on Monday and another 3 Bears 30K TT on Sunday.  As always, I’ll let you know how it goes.  Have a great week!

NEXT POST –August 8, 2012                           

Lose Weight WITHOUT Dieting: Tip #73

Leave a Reply

Categories

