Posted by: Dr. Tyrone A. Holmes | July 22, 2012

Cycle Log: Competition Phase Week 14

Week 14 is the second week of the fifth mesocycle of my 2012 Competition Phase (click here for a detailed description of macrocyles, mesocycles and microcycles).  Here are the actual workouts with the plan for the week of July 16-22, 2012 (click here to download my plan for the Competition Phase).             

Week of 7/16/12 Mon Tues Wed Th Fri Sat Sun Total
Goal 1.25 VO2 1.25 AR OFF 1.25 CI OFF 0.5 WU ACCC #3 TT 6.0
Actual 1.25 VO2 1.0 AR OFF 1.25 CI OFF 0.5 WU ACCC #3 TT 5.5

                                             

I had an awesome week.  It started with my first VO2 Max Intervals session in months (this is a very hard workout).   I did 4 x 3:00 hard efforts with 3 minutes of recovery. My average power during the 12 minutes of hard effort was 265.25 watts.  I had a great Cadence Intervals workout on Thursday doing 2 x 10:00 and 1 x 5:00 at 100+ rpm in Zone 3 with 5 minutes of recovery.  I tired a bit during the third interval but rode well during the workout.  The week’s big event took place at the Arizona City Cotton Classic TT on Sunday.  My buddy and I won our third consecutive event on the tandem.  We completed the 40K course in 1:01:03, which is our personal best.  And we did it on a sunny, warm and humid day.  We are on track to go under 1-hour at the State Championships in September.  I have another race coming up this week (the 3 Bears TT).  As always, I’ll let you know how it goes.  Have a great week!

NEXT POST –July 25, 2012                                

New Articles

Leave a Reply

Categories

