Posted by: Dr. Tyrone A. Holmes | April 29, 2012

Cycle Log: Competition Phase Week 2

Week 2 is the second week of the first mesocycle of my 2012 Competition Phase (click here for a detailed description of macrocyles, mesocycles and microcycles).  Here are the actual workouts with the plan for the week of April 23-29, 2012 (click here to download my plan for the Competition Phase).    

Week of 4/23/12 Mon Tues Wed Th Fri Sat Sun Total
Goal 2.0 HC 1.0 AR OFF 1.5 TT 1.0 AR 1.5 CI OFF 7.0
Actual 2.25 HC 1.0 AR OFF 1.25 HCS 1.0 AR 2.0 HI OFF 7.5

 

I had a great week.  I got my legs back and was able to do two really hard workouts. The first was my Hill Climb ride at South Mountain in Phoenix on a very warm day. My bike computer at the top of the mountain read 106°!  I did two 5.5 mile ascents.  The first climb was my second fastest ever.  I wore down a bit on the second ascent but I still had a great workout.  My legs were a bit tired so I did a High Cadence Spinning workout on Thursday.  I spent a lot of time riding 95-105 rpm on the indoor trainer.  I had a great Hill Intervals workout on Saturday with three 3.1 mile intervals and one 2.2 mile interval (ran out of gas on the last one).  The 3.1 mile route climbs about 440 feet.  I set a personal best on the first ascent with an average power of 242 watts and a time of 11:51.  Next week is a recovery week but I begin the week with a field test and end it with the Mt Lemmon Time Trial.  I’ll let you know how it goes.  Have a great week!

NEXT POST –May 2, 2012

Lose Weight WITHOUT Dieting: Tip #64

Leave a Reply

Categories

