Posted by: Dr. Tyrone A. Holmes | February 26, 2012

Cycle Log: Intensity Phase Week 8

Week 8 is the second week of the third mesocycle of my 2012 Intensity Phase (click here for a detailed description of macrocyles, mesocycles and microcycles).  Here are the actual workouts with the plan for the week of February 20-26, 2012 (click here to download my plan for the Intensity Phase).

Week of 2/20/12 Mon Tues Wed Th Fri Sat Sun Total
Goal 1.75 TT 0.75 AR 2.5 HC OFF 1.0 AR 1.5 PI:CC/SI:S OFF 7.5
Actual 1.25 VO2 1.0 AR 1.75 HC OFF 1.25 AR HI 2.0 OFF 7.25

 

I had a great week that included my first ever ride on a tandem bike!  On Monday, I did my first VO2 Max Intervals workout of the season.  I did 6 x 3:00 hard efforts with 3 minutes of recovery.  It was a very hard, but rewarding effort.  Wednesday’s Hill Climb was on a tandem bike and I had a great time serving as the stoker (person on the back).  My best workout was Saturday’s Hill Intervals.  I did 3 x 3.1 mile hard efforts up a hill that gains 440 feet.  This included my 2 fastest ascents ever! My new PB of 11:52 is not far off my seasonal goal of 11:30.  I have a field test on Monday and one of my biggest races of the season on Saturday at the Arizona Senior Olympics.  I’ll let you know how it goes.  Have a great week!

NEXT POST – February 28, 2012

10 Quick Tips for a Healthy 2012 – #6

Leave a Reply

Categories

