Posted by: Dr. Tyrone A. Holmes | February 19, 2012

Cycle Log: Intensity Phase Week 7

Week 7 is the first week of the third mesocycle of my 2012 Intensity Phase (click here for a detailed description of macrocyles, mesocycles and microcycles).  Here are the actual workouts with the plan for the week of February 13-19, 2012 (click here to download my plan for the Intensity Phase).

Week of 2/13/12 Mon Tues Wed Th Fri Sat Sun Total
Goal 2.5 Tempo 1.0 AR OFF 1.75 HI 0.75 AR 1.5 PI:CC/SI:S OFF 7.5
Actual 2.75 Tempo 1.0 AR OFF 0.5 WU 1.25 AR 1.5 CI OFF 7.0

 

I had a tough week.  On Monday, I had a tremendous Tempo ride on my Trek hybrid, riding a total of 44 miles with over 1,500 feet of climbing.  Unfortunately, that ride wore me out and I had fairly tired legs for the rest of the week.  Thursday’s workout was supposed to be a Hill Intervals session but I could only make it through the warm-up before I called it a day.  After a long Active Recovery ride on Friday, I felt better for Saturday’s Cadence Intervals workout (decided not to try the higher intensity Pyramid Intervals: Constant Cadence workout).  I did 4 x 10:00 hard efforts at 100+ rpm with 5 minutes of recovery.  The last 2 efforts got me into my Zone 4 lactate threshold heart rate range so I could have done my originally scheduled workout.  I have another hard week coming up including my first ever ride on a tandem.  I’ll let you know how it goes.  Have a great week!

NEXT POST – February 21, 2012

10 Quick Tips for a Healthy 2012 – #5

Leave a Reply

Categories

