Posted by: Dr. Tyrone A. Holmes | February 5, 2012

Cycle Log: Intensity Phase Week 5

Week 5 is the second week of the second mesocycle of my 2012 Intensity Phase (click here for a detailed description of macrocyles, mesocycles and microcycles).  Here are the actual workouts with the plan for the week of January 30 to February 5, 2012 (click here to download my plan for the Intensity Phase).

Week of 1/30/12 Mon Tues Wed Th Fri Sat Sun Total
Goal 1.0 AR 2.5 HC OFF 1.5 SLT/SI:S 1.0 AR OFF FF TT 30K 7.5
Actual 1.0 AR 2.25 HC OFF 1.0 SLT OFF 1.0 HCS FF TT 30K 7.0

 

I had a great week, which culminated in a tough but successful race.  I began the week with an Active Recovery ride to recover from last Sunday’s race.  Tuesday’s Hill Climb consisted of two ascents of South Mountain in Phoenix, AZ (about 2,500 feet of climbing).  I set a personal best on each ascent by 38 seconds over last year’s best time by pedaling bigger gears.  I was a bit tired on Thursday so I just did a Single Leg Training session.  Sunday’s 30K Flapjack Flats TT went very well.  I felt great but I struggled a bit on a course that climbed almost 700 feet on the outbound leg.  Still, I am way ahead of where I was at this time last year.  I have another race this Friday.  I’ll let you know how it goes.  Have a great week!

NEXT POST – February 7, 2012

10 Quick Tips for a Healthy 2012 – #3

Leave a Reply

Categories

