Posted by: Dr. Tyrone A. Holmes | January 29, 2012

Cycle Log: Intensity Phase Week 4

Week 4 is the first week of the second mesocycle of my 2012 Intensity Phase (click here for a detailed description of macrocyles, mesocycles and microcycles).  Here are the actual workouts with the plan for the week of January 23-29, 2012 (click here to download my plan for the Intensity Phase).

Week of 1/23/12 Mon Tues Wed Th Fri Sat Sun Total
Goal 2.5 Tempo 1.0 AR OFF 1.5 TT 1.0 AR OFF RAT TT 20K 7.5
Actual 1.75 Tempo 1.25 AR OFF 1.25 SS 1.25 AR OFF RAT TT 20K 7.0

 

I had a great start to the race season.  I began the week with a very strong Tempo ride on the indoor trainer that left me too tired to do my Time Trial Intervals workout on Thursday.  I replaced it with a Steady Spinning ride.  That left me strong enough to ride well in the Race Against Time TT in Picacho, AZ.  I did 32:24 for the 20K event that climbs steadily (but not too steeply) on the outbound leg.  Averaged about 23 mph, which is fine for the first race of the season.  I have another race next Sunday. I’ll let you know how it goes.  Have a great week!

NEXT POST – January 31, 2012

10 Quick Tips for a Healthy 2012 – #2

Leave a Reply

Categories

