Posted by: Dr. Tyrone A. Holmes | January 15, 2012

Cycle Log: Intensity Phase Week 2

Week 2 is the second week of the first mesocycle of my 2012 Intensity Phase (click here for a detailed description of macrocyles, mesocycles and microcycles).  Here are the actual workouts with the plan for the week of January 9-15, 2012 (click here to download my plan for the Intensity Phase).

Week of 1/9/12 Mon Tues Wed Th Fri Sat Sun Total
Goal 2.5 HC 1.0 AR OFF 1.5 TT 1.0 AR 1.5 SLT/ SI:L OFF 7.5
Actual 2.5 HC 1.0 AR OFF 1.5 TT 1.0 AR 1.5 SLT/ SI:S OFF 7.5

 

I had a great Hill Climb workout on Monday at South Mountain in Phoenix, AZ.  I ascended the 5.5 mile peak twice for a total of 2,500+ feet of climbing.  I did the two ascents 4 minutes faster than the two climbs I did on South Mountain one year ago.  I am way ahead of last year’s pace!  I had a great indoor Time Trial Intervals workout on Thursday.  I did 6 x 5:00 hard efforts with 5:00 recovery.  I had another strong Single Leg Training and Short Sprint Intervals workout on Saturday.  I set a PB for fastest indoor sprint at 33.1 mph!  I have a Field Test and Tempo ride at the beginning of this week and then I recover.  I begin my season with the Race Against Time Picacho Peak Time Trial in two weeks.  Have a great week!

NEXT POST – January 17, 2012

Five Reasons to Train with a Power Meter: #5

Leave a Reply

Categories

