Posted by: Dr. Tyrone A. Holmes | January 8, 2012

Cycle Log: Intensity Phase Week 1

Week 1 is the first week of the first mesocycle of my 2012 Intensity Phase (click here for a detailed description of macrocyles, mesocycles and microcycles), which means it’s time to start riding hard!  Here are the actual workouts with the plan for the week of January 2-8, 2012 (click here to download my plan for the Intensity Phase).

Week of 1/2/12 Mon Tues Wed Th Fri Sat Sun Total
Goal 1.25 CI 0.75 SS OFF 1.5 SLT/SI:L 1.0 AR 1.5 PI OFF 6.0
Actual 1.25 CI 0.75 SS OFF 1.5 SLT/SI:L 1.0 AR 1.0 HCS OFF 5.5

 

I struggled a bit with leg fatigue this week.  I had a good Cadence Intervals workout on Monday.  I did 5 x 6:00 CI at 100-115 rpm with 5 x 4:00 recovery.  Each hard effort generated 220-260 watts so I was working very hard for a CI workout.  I was tired on Tuesday for my Steady Spinning ride but felt stronger on Thursday and had a great Single Leg Training and Sprint Intervals: Long workout.  However, I was tired again on Saturday so instead of a Pyramid Intervals session, I did a High Cadence Spinning workout in low gearing.  Hopefully, I’ll have my legs back for next week’s slate of workouts.  I’ll let you know how it goes.  My first race is 3 weeks from today.  Have a great week!

NEXT POST – January 9, 2012

My 2012 Training and Racing Goals

Leave a Reply

Categories

