Posted by: Dr. Tyrone A. Holmes | December 18, 2011

Cycle Log: Endurance Phase Week 10

Week 10 is the first week of the fourth mesocycle of my Endurance Phase (click here for a detailed description of macrocyles, mesocycles and microcycles).  Here are the actual workouts with the plan for the week of December 12-18, 2011 (click here to download my plan for the Endurance Phase).

Week of 12/12/11 Mon Tues Wed Th Fri Sat Sun Total
Goal 3.0 SS 1.25 HCR OFF 2.0 Tempo 0.75 AR 1.5 PB or SI OFF 8.5
Actual 1.75 Tempo 1.25 HCR OFF 2.5 SS 1.0 AR 1.5 PI OFF 8.0

 

I had a very good week but I also had to deal with some leg fatigue.  Because of bad weather, I did an indoor Tempo ride on Monday on very strong legs.  I performed 2 x 30:00 hard efforts (top half of my Zone 3) with 7 minutes of recovery after each interval.  Thursday’s Steady Spinning ride was tough because my legs were fairly tired and it was a cold day here in sunny AZ.  My best ride was Saturday’s Pyramid Intervals session, which was my first high intensity (Zone 4) interval workout since the end of the racing season.  I did 5 x 5:00 hard efforts with 5 minutes of recovery.  Very tough but it felt great.  I have another hard week coming up.  I’ll let you know how it goes.  Have a great week!

NEXT POST – December 20, 2011

Why to Train with a Power Meter

Leave a Reply

Categories

