Posted by: Dr. Tyrone A. Holmes | October 2, 2011

My Endurance Phase Training Plan for 2012

It’s time to get back to work!  After a couple of weeks of much-needed recovery and an extra week to deal with a cold, it is time to start training for the 2012 bike racing season.  My Endurance Phase training program will officially begin on October 10, although I will do a couple of longer rides this week.  I have two goals for this phase.  First, I want to improve my aerobic endurance, which is the ability to use oxygen to produce energy for the working muscles.  My aerobic endurance is good, but there is always room for improvement.  Second and more importantly, I want to significantly improve my muscular endurance, which is the ability to pedal a relatively large gear at a moderate cadence for an extended period of time.  This is a definite weakness for me and I have to improve it if I am going to maximize my performance in the individual time trial.  As you review this plan, keep a few points in mind that will assist you with the creation of your training plans:

  1. My Endurance Phase plan consists of five 21-day mesocycles (click here to learn more about mesocycles).  More specifically, it uses a 16/5 training pattern (16 days of relatively hard training followed by 5 days of recovery). Many training plans are based on a 28-day mesocycle (23 days of relatively hard training followed by 5 days of recovery), but I prefer the shorter timeframe to provide my nearly 50-year old legs with sufficient time to recover.  If you are a younger cyclist, a 28-day mesocycle should work fine.
  2. Because muscular endurance is a weakness, I have incorporated several workouts specifically designed to enhance this physiological ability such as Tempo rides, Power Bursts, Strength Intervals and Pyramid Intervals.
  3. The program applies progressive overload to enhance aerobic endurance.  I go from 16 hours of riding in Mesocycle 1 to 22 hours in Mesocycle 4.  I dip to 21 hours in Mesocycle 5 because of holiday travel plans.
  4. I will perform a 30-minute field test during the recovery week of each mesocycle.  I strongly recommend you incorporate some type of field test in your training plans to evaluate your progress on a continuous basis.

Click on the link below to download my Endurance Phase training plan. Of course, I will let you know how the plan is progressing.  Have a great week!

2012 Endurance Phase Training Plan

NEXT POST – October 6, 2011

Lose Weight WITHOUT Dieting: Tip #48

Leave a Reply

Categories

