Posted by: Dr. Tyrone A. Holmes | September 11, 2011

Cycle Log: Competition Phase Week 19

Week 19 is the first week of the seventh mesocycle of my Competition Phase (click here for a detailed description of macrocyles, mesocycles and microcycles).  Here are the actual workouts with the plan for the week of September 5-11, 2011 (click here to download my plan for the Competition Phase).

Week of 9/5/11 Mon Tues Wed Th Fri Sat Sun Total
Goal 1.0 AR 1.5 SS OFF 1.0 SI:L OFF 0.5 WU AZ TT 40K 6.0
Actual 0.75 AR 0.75 AR OFF 0.75 SS 1.0 AR OFF AZ TT 40K 5.0

 T

This is the final week of my racing season and I’m really glad it’s over.  I had a great season but I am very tired, perhaps more mentally than physically.  My big event this week was the AZ State Time Trial Championships and I raced reasonably well (1:08:22 for 40K, which was good for 17/26 in Cat 5).  However, I was much stronger during my first peak back in May when my best average power was about 230 watts.  During the past 4 races, my average power has been between 200 and 205 watts.  Part of this is due to the heat.  You simply cannot generate as much power on hot days and it has been really hot here!  The other part is leg fatigue and I will have to work on improving my fitness so I can be stronger late in the summer.  I’ll be resting the next two weeks (3 easy recovery rides each week) before I begin my 2011/12 Endurance Phase Training Plan.  As always, I’ll let you know how it goes.  Have a great week!

NEXT POST – September 15, 2011

The Lose Weight WITHOUT Dieting: Tip #45

Leave a Reply

Categories

