Posted by: Dr. Tyrone A. Holmes | August 21, 2011

Cycle Log: Competition Phase Week 16

Week 16 is the first week of the sixth mesocycle of my Competition Phase (click here for a detailed description of macrocyles, mesocycles and microcycles).  Here are the actual workouts with the plan for the week of August 15-21, 2011 (click here to download my plan for the Competition Phase).

Week of 8/15/11 Mon Tues Wed Th Fri Sat Sun Total
Goal 2.5 HC 1.0 AR OFF 1.0 SI:L 1.0 AR Travel NM TT 31.8K 7.0
Actual 1.5 HC 1.25 HCS OFF 1.25 SI:L 1.0 AR Travel NM TT 31.8K 6.75

 T

This was not one of my better weeks.  I had to cut Monday’s Hill Climb at South Mountain to 90 minutes because it was pushing 100 degrees and I just wilted in the bright sunshine.  I had a good High Cadence Spinning session on Tuesday and Sprint Intervals workout on Thursday (15 1-minute sprints with 1-minute recovery).  However, Sunday’s New Mexico/Texas Regional Time Trial Championship was a bit disappointing.  I just didn’t have great legs.  I rode very well for about 2/3 of the 31.8K race but wore out over the last 5 miles.  My average speed was about 23 mph on a hilly course so it wasn’t a terrible race, but I expected to do much better.  I have the Arizona State Team Time Trial Championships coming up this week.  I’ll let you know how it goes.  Have a great week!

NEXT POST – August 25, 2011

The Lose Weight WITHOUT Dieting: Tip #42

Leave a Reply

Categories

