Posted by: Dr. Tyrone A. Holmes | August 7, 2011

Cycle Log: Competition Phase Week 14

Week 14 is the second week of the fifth mesocycle of my Competition Phase (click here for a detailed description of macrocyles, mesocycles and microcycles).  Here are the actual workouts with the plan for the week of August 1-7, 2011 (click here to download my plan for the Competition Phase).

Week of 8/1/11 Mon Tues Wed Th Fri Sat Sun Total
Goal 0.75 AR 2.0 SS OFF 1.75 HI 1.0 AR 1.5 VO2/SI:S OFF 7.0
Actual 1.25 HCR 2.0 SS OFF 1.25 TT 0.75 AR 1.0 SI OFF 6.25

T

I had another good, albeit difficult week of riding.  The temps have skyrocketed and I did Tuesday’s Steady Spinning ride on my hybrid bike in 101 degree heat.  I rode very well and stayed fairly well hydrated.  I did my two interval workouts indoors.  Thursday’s Time Trial Intervals consisted of 4 x 7:00 hard efforts with 5 minutes of recovery at my highest power output yet.  I did Saturday’s Sprint Intervals: Long on tired legs so I focused on spinning a high cadence (100-105 rpm) in a moderate gear.  I also made a significant change.  Instead of doing 1 minute sprints with 2 minutes of recovery, I did 1 minute sprints with 1 minute of recovery (12 sprints total).  This is a hard workout but it trains your body to recover more quickly.  I have a field test on Monday and then I rest a bit for the home stretch of my racing season: 4 championship events on 4 consecutive weekends.  I’ll let you know it goes.  Have a great week!

NEXT POST – August 11, 2011

The Lose Weight WITHOUT Dieting: Tip #40

Responses

  1. Macro, meso, micro,…..are you sure this isn’t physics.


Leave a Reply

Categories

