Posted by: Dr. Tyrone A. Holmes | July 31, 2011

Cycle Log: Competition Phase Week 13

Week 13 is the first week of the fifth mesocycle of my Competition Phase (click here for a detailed description of macrocyles, mesocycles and microcycles).  Here are the actual workouts with the plan for the week of July 25 to July 31, 2011 (click here to download my plan for the Competition Phase).

Week of 7/25/11 Mon Tues Wed Th Fri Sat Sun Total
Goal 2.5 HC 1.0 AR OFF 1.0 SI:L OFF 0.5 WU ACCC 40K TT 7.0
Actual 2.5 HC 1.0 AR OFF 1.0 VO2 OFF 0.5 WU ACCC 20K TT 6.0

T

It was another hot week in Arizona, but the riding was good!  I had a great ride up South Mountain on Monday.  I did 2.5 ascents in warm, muggy conditions for a total of 2,500+ feet of climbing.  I’m getting close to one of my goals, which is to climb South Mountain 3 times during a single workout.  I’ll easily do that this fall when it is 20 degrees cooler!  I had another great VO2 Max Intervals workout on Thursday where I did 5 x 3:30 hard efforts with 3:30 recovery.  I am making these intervals progressively longer until I am up to 5 x 5:00.  Then I’ll increase my power output (i.e., increase resistance/gearing).  The big event of the week was today’s Arizona City Cotton Classic Time Trial.  I did the team time trial with two Landis/Trek teammates on a course shortened to 20K because of road construction.  We did reasonably well on a 90-degree, humid day finishing in 32 minutes.  I have another hard training week coming up.  I’ll let you know it goes.  Have a great week!

NEXT POST – August 4, 2011

The Lose Weight WITHOUT Dieting: Tip #40

Leave a Reply

Categories

