Posted by: Dr. Tyrone A. Holmes | July 10, 2011

Cycle Log: Competition Phase Week 10

Week 10 is the first week of the fourth mesocycle of my Competition Phase (click here for a detailed description of macrocyles, mesocycles and microcycles).  Here are the actual workouts with the plan for the week of July 4 to July 10, 2011 (click here to download my plan for the Competition Phase).

Week of 7/4/11 Mon Tues Wed Th Fri Sat Sun Total
Goal 2.5 HC 1.0 AR OFF 1.0 SI:L OFF 0.5 WU 3 Bears 30K TT 7.0
Actual 2.5 HC 1.25 AR OFF 1.0 VO2 OFF 0.5 WU 3 Bears 30K TT 6.75

T

I had a great week.  Monday’s Hill Climb session was done in hot and humid (for Arizona) conditions.  I felt great and did two 7.0 mile ascents up South Mountain for a total of 2,500+ feet of climbing.  Once it starts to cool down here, I will add a third ascent to this workout.  I had a very good VO2 Max Intervals workout on Thursday.  I did 5 x 3:15 hard efforts with 3:15 recovery.  I also had a great race on Sunday.  It was the third and final race in the 3 Bears Time Trial Series.  I was concerned about how I would handle the heat and it was warm (mid-80’s) but not as hot as it can be this time of year.  I had my second fastest time ever on this course at 50:00 for the 30K race that climbs nearly 700 feet on the outbound leg.  My average power was 220 watts, which means I have a really solid foundation to build on for the next 6-8 weeks as I peak for my championship events.  Have a great week!

NEXT POST – July 14, 2011

The Lose Weight WITHOUT Dieting: Tip #37

Leave a Reply

Categories

