Posted by: Dr. Tyrone A. Holmes | July 3, 2011

Cycle Log: Competition Phase Week 9

Week 9 is the third week of the third mesocycle of my Competition Phase (click here for a detailed description of macrocyles, mesocycles and microcycles), which means it is a recovery week.  Here are the actual workouts with the plan for the week of June 27 to July 3, 2011 (click here to download my plan for the Competition Phase).

Week of 6/27/11 Mon Tues Wed Th Fri Sat Sun Total
Goal TT Test 1.5 1.25 CI OFF 0.75 AR OFF 1.0 AR OFF 4.5
Actual TT Test 1.25 1.25 CI OFF 1.0 AR OFF 1.0 AR OFF 4.5

T

This was a recovery week but it began with a field test and Cadence Intervals workout. I did my 10-mile field test in 99 degree temperatures, which had a significant effect on my performance.  I finished the test in 28:11 (1:42 slower than my personal best) with an average power of 190 watts, my lowest output ever.  My PB for a field test is 36 watts higher, done in 72 degree weather.  All things considered, I didn’t do too badly riding uphill for six miles and downhill for four (420 feet of ascent).  I had a good indoor Cadence Intervals workout.  I did 3 x 10:00 hard efforts at 100-110 rpm with my heart rate consistently in Zone 3 (85% to 94% of lactate threshold heart rate). I used the rest of the week to recover.  I have a hard week coming up that includes a 30K time trial race on Sunday.  I’ll let you know how it goes.  Have a great week!

NEXT POST – July 7, 2011

The Lose Weight WITHOUT Dieting: Tip #36

Leave a Reply

Categories

