Posted by: Dr. Tyrone A. Holmes | May 29, 2011

Cycle Log: Competition Phase Week 4

Week 4 is the first week of the second mesocycle of my Competition Phase (click here for a detailed description of macrocyles, mesocycles and microcycles).  Here are the actual workouts with the plan for the week of May 23 to 29, 2011 (click here to download my plan for the Competition Phase).

Week of 5/23/11 Mon Tues Wed Th Fri Sat Sun Total
Goal 1.0 AR 1.25 PI:CC OFF 1.25 SS Travel SC TT OFF 5.5
Actual 1.0 AR 1.25 TT OFF 1.25 SS Travel SC TT OFF 5.5

T

I had a super week, which included one of my best races ever!  After an Active Recovery ride on Monday, I did a Time Trial Intervals workout on Tuesday.  This workout flowed from the VO2 Max Intervals workouts I have been doing this spring.  In other words, my fitness has improved to the point where I can no longer call what I was doing a VO2 max session.  It’s too easy!  My next step is to go from 5 x 5:00 Time Trial intervals at that power output to 3 x 15:00.  After a routine Steady Spinning session, I traveled to California for the Southern California-Nevada Cycling Association’s State Time Trial Championships.  This was one of my most important races of the season.  My goal was to break one-hour for the 23.5 mile race, which I did with plenty of time to spare on a day with 25+ mph winds (staying upright in the crosswinds was a major challenge).  I completed the course in 58:21 with an average speed of more than 24 mph.  I seem to be peaking quite nicely!  I have one more race during this peak period before I rest for a week, and begin the build process again for the championship events in August and September.  I’ll let you know how it goes.  Have a great week!

NEXT POST – June 1, 2011

The Lose Weight WITHOUT Dieting: Tip #31

Leave a Reply

Categories

